Boring postcards

On the street leading to Södra torget where all the buses are.
On the street leading to Södra torget where all the buses are.

It is still rainy weather with a few glimpses of sun. I am back in Borås after a few days in Malmö and walk the same streets again. I talked about this site where I work and compared some of my pictures with the pictures in a book I have heard of but never seen. The book is named for “Boring postcards” (Tråkiga vykort). One of my colleagues had the book and kindly let me have a look in it. Inspired by the book I took a modern replica of the city hall in Borås from the same angle as the postcard reprinted in the book is taken from. A quite funny little book with postcards from the 1950s and the 1960s with postcards of the most mundane buildings and places. The kind of places and buildings I often think are boring to photograph and think is tough to make interesting photographs of. But if no one takes any photographs of these building they will remain undocumented and no one will know how it looked during this period. The book “Boring postcards” is out of print but there is another one called “More boring postcards” still available and the front can be seen here in a small picture.

Well not all of my pictures resemble boring postcards, some are of more original buildings. This time I managed to pass by the new mural at the college library that is finished now. I have shown a few pictures while the artist worked on it before but not in its finished state. And a picture of another building with a mural I pass almost every day that was painted in 2014.

I also took a detour on my way home on Friday to look at the houses at Borås museum. One of the small cottages had a door at the end designated for dead so they should not walk again and that door was never used by the living. A cottage with a very low roof. The door for the dead can be seen at the leftt end of the cottage in the picture.

On Saturday it was a beautiful sunny day and I took a walk to the zoo and had a look at the animals.

The pictures are from Borås in western Sweden.

More pictures on Our World Tuesday and on Skywatch.

I pass by this mural painted in 204 on my way to work in the morning.
I pass by this mural painted in 204 on my way to work in the morning.
Taking a detour on my way home to look at the finished mural on the college library.
Taking a detour on my way home to look at the finished mural on the college library.
Borås town hall from the same spot as the photo taken by a postcard photographer many years ago.
Borås town hall from the same spot as the photo taken by a postcard photographer many years ago.
A red house that once was an inn in the countryside when there wasn´t any railroad.
A red house that once was an inn in the countryside when there wasn´t any railroad.
Small cottage with a door for the dead at the end.
Small cottage with a door for the dead at the end.
Autumn and rain.
Autumn and rain.
Beautiful weather on Saturday. I am on my way to look at the animals at Borås zoo.
Beautiful weather on Saturday. I am on my way to look at the animals at Borås zoo.
African wild dogs in a warm spot in their enclosure.
African wild dogs in a warm spot in their enclosure.

Our World

18 thoughts on “Boring postcards

  1. What a great collection and variety of images. If you’re your going to paint graphics on the side of a building, I vote for these…they are amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It seems to be the same here. It is an old industrial town turned college town and they market it with sculpture biennials and the street art festival is also meant to be biennial in the future. A lot of museums and a really active town culturally. I wish you a good weekend!

      Like

    1. Thank you! That is exactly what I want to do. And in a few years time some of these places will be changed but others will remain as they are now or a little changed. I wish you a good sunday!

      Like

Leave a Reply

