A little exploring

Beautiful flowers in the morning
Beautiful flowers in the morning

This week has been rather good with several sunny days. Temperatures are still a bit low around 10 degrees Celsius but spring is coming forward.

This week I went exploring. One tend to forget to explore the city one live in and take it as given. I read in the media that Pippi Longstocking´s parrot lived in the terrarium in Folkets Park. He is going to move to Germany due to Swedish regulations to have a bigger cage. His name is Douglas aka Rosalinda in the film from 1970 and is now 49 years old and live with another 50 year old bird named Gojan (Short for Papegoja, the Swedish word for parrot). I wish these oldies a good life as pensionists in Germany. The red parrot is Douglas and the blue is Gojan.

I also saw a lot of snakes, lizards, small monkeys, turtles, a few alligators and a glimpse of flying foxes quarreling in a corner. In one part of the terrarium small monkeys, lizards and the flying foxes were moving freely with no net or glass between the visitors and the animals. A place I recommend to visit. Link to the place Malmö Reptilcenter.

The pictures comes from Malmö in Sweden.

I share this post with Our World Tuesday and Skywatch Friday. More animal pictures on Camera Critters and Saturday’s Critters  and more bird pictures at The BIRD D’Pot  and Wild Bird Wednesday.

The amusement park Folkets Park is waiting for summer.
The amusement park Folkets Park is waiting for summer.
Douglas aka Rosalinda in Pippi Longstocking film aged 49 years.
Douglas aka Rosalinda in Pippi Longstocking film aged 49 years. Picture is taken through the net.
Douglas' friend Gojan aged 50 year. Picture taken through the net.
Douglas’ friend Gojan aged 50 year. Picture taken through the net.
Indochinese spotted cobra. Picture taken through the glass.
Indochinese spotted cobra. Picture taken through the glass.
Big lizard photographed through the glass.
Big lizard photographed through the glass.
This little monkey is not much bigger than my hand and roamed free in the greenhouse.
This little monkey is not much bigger than my hand and roamed free in the greenhouse.
When I was on my way out of the greenhouse I saw this water dragon on a tree trunk.
When I was on my way out of the greenhouse I saw this water dragon on a tree trunk.
Friday morning and I pass through Malmö Central station on my way to work. The green Glass vase buildning is seen through the windows.
Friday morning and I pass through Malmö Central station on my way to work. The green Glass Vase building is seen through the windows.
22 thoughts on “A little exploring

    1. Thank you! There was a threat to put them down so I am happy they will be moved. They are endangered species today so only zoos are allowed to have them. The red parrot was born in the wild in 1967 and came to Sweden the same year. But I am happy they will have a place to live in their old age. I wish you a good week!

      Like

    1. Thank you! It is not a temple but a house for culture. The architecture is supposed to be inspired by the Moorish architecture in Spain I think. But it is very beautiful. I wish you a good weekend!

      Like

Leave a Reply

